MEMEBOX Special #67 Blackout! Review

Yayayayaya! So, I ordered a few boxes during their restocking promotion and I was already really excited to get one yesterday, but I got another one today!! This box was $25.99 ($6.99 shipping included) and came with 4 full sized product. I already own the Origins Charcoal Clay Mask along with Umbrian Clay bar by Fresh so I’m not stranger to things charcoal / black!! I always feel like my pore are purified after using “black” products.

IMG_1368  IMG_1369IMG_1370


IMG_1376IMG_1392

1. B&Soap Black Block 85 Full Size product – 85g ($24)

Product Description: A black soap bar made from nature’s complexion clean up crew–charcoal, rosemary, and olive oil. It gets to the bottom of skin’s cloudy, clogged pores to clear the way for smoother, softer and brighter looking skin. Formulated for combination to oily skin, this handmade charcoal soap absorbs debris and impurities while the rosemary extracts act as a natural antibacterial agent to detoxify pores without irritation.

Direction: Create a lather using hands and massage the foam all over the face. Rinse off with lukewarm water.

My take on it: The smell is okay, the rosemary and olive smell is pretty strong and makes it have the patchouli/herbal effect. My skin is normal to combination and not sensitive at all, so this is a nice addition to my facial soaps. This is actually my first charcoal face product that isn’t a mask. I had the habit of trying to get a thick layer of the soap on my face when I realized it’s a bar soap, not a mask. The suds are decent, not overly lathery which I appreciate when I’m using soap near my eyes. Overall, it washed off clean and left that “tight” feeling on my skin. Additional note is that it dries really quickly so it might be nice to carry when traveling. IMO, this is a decent product but at a price tag of $24, I would not purchase.

IMG_1410IMG_1393

2. Honest Clinic Black Hole Spot 10ml – Full size product: 10 ml ($16)

Product Description: This night care spot gel contains a special A+BHA complex–the perfect balance of AHA and BHA components- formulated by Honest Clinic to gently melt away excessive dead skin cells, and impurities from both inside the pores and the outer surface of the skin. It effectively treats acne and blemish spots with just a single application while brightening up darkened, uneven skin tone at the same time.

Directions: Take a small amount of the formula and place it over troubled spot just before going to bed. Make sure it’s non-problematic.

My take on it: At first glance, it looks like it’s meant for black heads, which is not fair to assume a product that is called black hole spot is for black heads but hey, it’s a pretty good guess. It comes out like a gel with a black tint to it. HMMM, I’m overall perplexed by the product. It states that it’s for blemishes/acne but somehow it’ll get rid of uneven skin tone AND melt away dead skin cells??? I tried it on a few small spots on my forehead and I didn’t see any difference the next day. I think this product is the worse in the box and I definitely would not rebuy it. It is unclear what they want the product to do and it’s clear in the formulation that it isn’t effective! (At least for me)

IMG_1381IMG_1411IMG_1412

3. Tosowoong Black-Head Nose Pack 8ea – Full Size Product 8ea ($6)

Product Description: Formulated with Moroccan lava clay, charcoal powder, and volcanic ash, this blackhead removing nose patch is entirely made up of natural ingredients and the black color of the patches comes from actual charcoal powders. It’s gentle on the skin yet effectively draws out stubborn blackheads from your nose.

Directions: Cleanse and wet your nose with water. remove the film from the pack and place the smoother side of it over your nose. Wait for 15 minutes until the sheet is entirely dried. Then peel it off from the edges, gently as it is pretty sticky and may stimulate the skin.

My take on it: I was running low on Biore nose pore strips so I was pleased to get something new to test out. Above in my picture is the Tosowoong Strip on top (black) and the Biore on the bottom (white). Let me tell you, with one being white and one being black I was having trouble finding a surface that both would show up clearly, luckily, memebox’s box provided the solution. hah! They’re about the same size, the Tosowoong Strip has a distinct smell to it–laundry detergent with a hint of cologne. I really enjoyed the smell initially but since it’s on top of my nose, it gets a little overwhelming during the whole process. Note, this strip actually makes your nose black too so exercise caution if you’re wearing anything light colored. Performance was a little underwhelming, after taking after the nose strip, there was black residue all over my nose which I then had to wash off. I had a few black heads that were still stubbornly there after the nose strip. I would not buy this again.

IMG_1377

4. L’CRET Hair Color Keeper Treatment Shampoo – Full Size Product 300 ml ($42)

Product Description: A must-have treatment shampoo for those with dyed hair. The color keeping blend of sunflower seed, babassu seed oil, panthenol, and silk protein protects the hair from fading in color of UV bleaching, while delivering rich nutrients for a healthy moisture & oil balance.

Directions: Lather well and massage into scalp and hair. Rinse off with lukewarm water.

My take on it: It is VERY STRONGLY scented, almost like…herbal tar scent. So, if scented products bother you, this may not be the shampoo for you. Edit: I came back to smell it and it seems the smell is less strong now, most likely I got used to it and now I can barely smell it.  It reminds me of the Paul Mitchell Tree Mint Shampoo and has a similar feel. The shampoo itself is not black (just the bottle). I do color my hair and it doesn’t feel like it’s stripping my hair as much as normal shampoos such as Herbal Essences would feel. I’ll see how my hair looks after using this continuously and see if it’d be a good repurchase. I tend to use sulfate free shampoos after coloring and judging from the ingredient list, this may be sulfate free.


I like the diversity in this box, but I was hoping for more products that were charcoal, or maybe even black make up would’ve been fun! I think just picking products that are black is a little too easy :ppp Overall, I think the products are versatile and I can work them into my daily regime, so I’m happy about that. I’m not sure I’d buy any of these products but for $19, it is still considered a good value.

Leave a Reply

