Annie’s Way – Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid Brightening Jelly Mask Review

IMG_3060

I purchased this mask off of YesStyle for $21.90. It comes in a fairly large tub of 250 ml and a spatula for spreading the jelly mask on your face. There was no noticeable scent that I could smell, it’s texture is that of the hair gel that comes in tubs. It is definitely a JELLY mask but that makes it very easy to apply on your face. It almost made me feel like a glazed donut … There are 6 different jelly masks that Annie’s Way offers: Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid, Aloe Moisturizing, Q10 Anti-aging, Lavender Relaxing, Honey Deep Moisturizing, and Italy Red Wine. I went with the Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid mask because it is their “signature” mask that is most raved and reviewed online.

IMG_3062IMG_3064


What it claims to do:

-whitening 

-Moisturizing

-minimizing fine lines 

-leaves skin radiantly bright 

Instructions: First cleaning face and apply toner on the skin as base. Apply jelly mask approximately thickness 0.3-0.5 CM evenly by using the spatula. After 30 minutes, remove the jelly mask by scraping gently, wipe off with tissue and rinse with water. Apply moisturizer as what you usually use. Use twice a week or as needed.

IMG_3061 IMG_3065 IMG_3073 IMG_3066

Ingredients (vary a little bit between online & on the box, I have listed the ones off the box): Dist water, Carbopol 940 (emulsifier), Hyaluronic Acid (moisturizer), Butylene Glycol (solvent moisturizer), Arbutin Extract (whitening), Vitamin EC (antioxidant whitening), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (antioxidant whitening), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizinate (anti-inflammatory anti-allergic), D-panthenol (antistatic moisturizer), Methylisothiazolinon (preservative), Iodopropynyl Butylcarbmate (preservative)

*function according to CosDNA


IMG_3067 IMG_3069 IMG_3070

Pros: 

-easy to apply, easy to wash off after using wash cloth/spatula to scrap off most of mask

-stays very well on your face-no fear of it dripping or getting on anything

-DEFINITELY brightens, and whitens– my face looked significantly brighter after even 1x use (note-I have used this mask now 3x with 3 different toners as bases)

-In these pictures, I had been only sleeping 2-4 hours everyday because of finals but I had no noticeable dark circles/bags from my fatigue!

-value: it’s a large tub for ~$20

Cons: 

-I have dry skin, so this almost felt too dry for me. The directions do state to use a toner base, the first time I used CosRX A-Sol, which I don’t think was moisturizing enough. It was slightly better when I used the Missha FTE as my toner base, however, I had the most moisturizing results when I used my hada lobo gokujyun milk which is the fairly thick even on its own. It also served to double up on my hyaluronic acid since both of those have it.

-30 minutes is a big of time to wear a mask, it got a little annoying towards the end

-although Annie’s Way does not claim this directly, some folks have claimed it “sucks” out their blackheads and minimizes pores–I did not see those results

*note: skin type – non-sensitive, dry skin in desert weather


I do enjoy this mask and see results from it. I wouldn’t call it my HG mask but I would repurchase jelly masks from this line, possibly the Honey Deep Moisturizing next. I love the concept and how clean it is!

2 thoughts on “Annie’s Way – Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid Brightening Jelly Mask Review

  1. I *just* bought this mask, and I’m so excited to try it out! I’ve used the Aloe Anti-Acne one (which is one of their newer ones I believe) and wasn’t a big fan at all, but your review is giving me hope for this one 😀

Leave a Reply

