Dive into the Rabbit Hole – Indie Perfumes

I’ve always loved perfumes-anything from Chanel eau Tendre to Dior’s J’Adore. Smell is such a strong sense for me. A good perfume to me is like a good accessory. It sets the tone for my day and presence! Unfortunately, most traditional perfumes now give me headaches.

Through r/femalefashionadvice, I discovered the world of Indie Perfume Oil!

I started with what is considered the “Godfather” of perfume oil–Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab (BPAL)! Through swaps on r/indiemakeupandmore, I discovered a few other brands, Darling Clandestine, Sixteen92 and Deconstructing Eden.

My first order from BPAL was definitely not all winners, but there was one–Alice. These are reviews for the ones that stood out to me, and some very popular ones that didn’t work for me.

  • Alice: Milk and honey with rose, carnation and bergamot I FELL in love with this one. This one is warm and spicy to me which I think is from the bergamot with a touch of floral in the background. The milk and honey balance out the spice and it’s definitely one of my regular wears. Through is medium to strong, I mixed this into unscented lotion and carry it around in my purse now.
  • Vintage 2009 Snake Oil: A blend of exotic Indonesian oils sugared with vanilla. This is BPAL’s best selling oil and is highly spoken of! It was not the oil for me, the incense is extremely strong, then the vanilla comes second. I tried it for a week straight and it just wasn’t a good fit. My boyfriend described it as smelling a bit like a temple or those antique shops 😦 I really wanted to love it but it was a no-go.
  • Dorian:  A Victorian fougere with three pale musks and dark, sugared vanilla tea. Another really popular scent, that also did not work out for me. It smelled like a lemon cake to me! I did not get any of the teas, but I did get the variation of musks with a strong almost lemon-cake like scent.
  • Embalming Fluid/Serving Tea After Coitus: A light, pure scent: white musk, green tea, aloe and lemon. Embalming fluid smelled JUST like Elizabeth Arden’s Green Tea perfume to me. This definitely screams green tea and was actually a bit too much for me. Through the swap I saw someone post Serving Tea After Coitus: Green tea, heady honey, white plum, ambergris accord, and vanilla flower. Which in comparison to embalming fluid was more mellow and a more rounded scent. The green tea is more balanced with the honey and vanilla.
  • Fairy WineAn ethereal vintage, steeped with dandelion, honey and red currants. I really wanted to love this one, mostly because I love Neil Gaiman’s Star Dust-but this didn’t work with my body chemistry. It is very bubbly, almost like fruity champagne.
  • HeelHoneysuckle, late summer jasmine and mowed grass. All 3 of the notes are very prominent, with jasmine first, then honeysuckle and that green grass at the end. This will be perfect for warmer weather and summer.
  • Dormouse: A dizzying eddy of four teas brushed with light herbs and a breath of peony. This is a strong floral tea, the peony is quite pronounced for me. It’s an extremely fresh scent for me, almost like newly cut flowers soaked in tea. I think this would be great for the spring time.

The world of indie perfumes is extremely fascinating to me so far, and I’m loving it. img_2267

 

Leave a Reply

