Perfume Challenge – 1 Review a Day

I am fairly new to the Indie perfume scene, only really starting in October of 2016. Since then, I feel like I’ve been rushing to find the rares, hoarding my current loves and not really giving all of them a fair chance. With accumulating so many new ones so quickly, I find that there are SOO many that are not being loved!

I’m going to try something new and writing a review everyday-either for perfume, or hair gloss, or whatnot. Could be full sized, sample, whatever.

image1 (1)

Day # 1 – March 29, 2017

Today I am wearing Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab’s, Womb Furie, from Lupercalia 2016. The scent description is: An itch that needs to be scratched: Snake Oil (A blend of exotic Indonesian oils sugared with vanilla) and three types of honey.  As Snake Oil is so loved and has such a big fan following, I tried my best to make Snake Oil work for me, but it was way too incense heavy, with barely any vanilla/sugar. As my boyfriend commented that I smelled like a head shop, it went into the de-stash pile.  When I found this Snake Oil blend, I was too excited as Snake Oil almost worked for me, and I am HUGE sucker for the lab’s honey note. This is a recurring blend that is released annually during BPAL’s Lupercalia (Valentine’s) release.

In the Bottle: Super sweet snake oil, I get the smell of incense, sugar, dark vanilla.

Color: Dark Yellow (just like honey!)

Wet on the Skin: I get the initial incense spice that is so Snake Oil, but the honey is equal in partners with the Snake Oil and I get a strong, powerful honey note in there as well. This is very balanced to my nose between the spiced incense and the sweetness of the honey.

Dry Down: The incense mostly fades away and I’m left with a spicy honey.

Verdict: I love this, this is everything I wanted in Snake Oil and even more.  If you’re a fan of honey and dark sweet incense, this is for you. Visually I imagine burning Indonesian incense with dark honey dribbled on top of it. This is a great date night scent and would go great with any other dark scents.

Leave a Reply

