Day #2 – NAVA Protoceratops & Moonstone

I found NAVA after they’d already gone on their haitus, hopefully returning late Spring! I can’t wait, as their blends are out of this world. I am constantly surprised and blown away by how well blended and different they are. After I heard NAVA has a DINOSAUR line, I was determined to find one to try. Many of the reviews describe it as “rocky”.

dinosaur

I picked up Protoceratops, resinous Amber Accord, Limestone Amber, Crystalline, Kobalt, Crystal Absolute, Vanilla Cream, Vanilla Ice Cream Accord, Vanilla Caramel, Bastet Amber and Egyptian Sugar accord. 

In the Bottle: I get a strong sharp smell of resin, very similar to the resin I would use with playing violin. It’s a strong amber resin smell and I don’t really smell much of the sugar and vanilla. I’m a little nervous at this point, as it doesn’t smell great in the bottle.

Color: Yellow

Wet on Skin: Very powdery and a bit bitter (similar to the bitterness from vetiver) but more resin-y than green. I am getting some of the vanilla and cream for a creamy amber-y resin scent.

Dry Down: The bitterness has finally dried away and I have the most lovely vanilla! It has a dry quality to it and it’s a smooth, creamy, amber vanilla resin.

I get a resin-y sugared vanilla ice cream withIMG_4066 depth from the limestone and resin. Visually I see a sugar cube made of  vanilla sugar, limestone and resin. This is really magical and am amazedby how well it works together. For some extra vanilla oomph, I layered NAVA’s Moonstone (the true Husk, black and white Fleck, essence and whole of African White Vanilla with a kiss of Crystalline). This combo is magical and I’ll definitely be returning to it. It lends a slight musk to the scent and helps amplify the vanilla.

 

Leave a Reply

