Day #4 – Edith Cushing of Crimson Peak

Today I am wearing one of my most monetarily rare perfumes, Edith Cushing from Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab’s Crimson Peak collection. This collection is based off of the movie Crimson Peak starring Tom Hiddleston, Jessica Chastain and Mia Wasikowska. Crimson Peak is directed by Guillermo del Toro, and is an American Gothic romance film.

After marrying the charming and seductive Sir Thomas Sharpe (Tom Hiddleston), young Edith (Mia Wasikowska) finds herself swept away to his remote gothic mansion in the English hills. Also living there is Lady Lucille (Jessica Chastain), Thomas’ alluring sister and protector of her family’s dark secrets. Able to communicate with the dead, Edith tries to decipher the mystery behind the ghostly visions that haunt her new home. As she comes closer to the truth, Edith may learn that true monsters are made of flesh and blood.

IMG_4156

After luckily finding a bottle of Edith Cushing at a great deal, I knew I had to watch the movie before trying her out! The movie’s cinematography is breath taking, from their costumes to the play of colors–the vivid red, the deep black, it’s all stunning. The dresses are GORGEOUS, absolute pieces of art.IMG_4157 The plot is fairly linear,  following true to the category of a Gothic Romance.

Onto the perfume, I have Edith Cushing, portrayed by the lovely, Mia Wasikowska. 

Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind: pearlescent vanilla musk with white sandalwood, grey amber, white patchouli, ambrette seed, and oudh.
In the bottle: All I smell is strong brown sugar, almost caramel. It’s not bad, but just wasn’t what I was expecting. It’s super sweet smelling and I’m hoping it smells different on the skin.
Color: Light yellow
Wet on the Skin: The foody vanilla completely goes away once on my skin. I get the oudh at first sniff, and the sweet vanilla with nutty ambrette is pretty prominent as well. I wonder if the ambrette or musk is what’s making it feel stronger and more perfume-like.
Dry on the Skin: Ah, the amber is finally coming out to play, it’s still fairly tame compared to the vanilla and oudh for me. The vanilla musk is gorgeous and hugs close to the skin. The sandalwood and vanilla musk are partners in prominence, but I don’t get much of the white patchouli, but that may be my nose not picking it up. In order of strength I get golden ambrette, musk, vanilla then sandalwood.
IMG_4158
This is a gorgeous vanilla musk, that is balanced with the ambrette and oudh, keeping it from feeling too  gourmand. Throw is decently strong but still wears fairly close to the skin. It is slightly powdery, but not in an old-lady way but in a sophisticated Victorian lady way. It’s true to the character in her innocence and warmth that she embodies. I’m so happy I was able to get a full bottle of this! Definitely going to cherish this one.
Leave a Reply

