Day #5 – Fatherhood: A Moment in Time

Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab is the first Indie perfumeries I tried and is still my favorite. Their scents are so well mixed and unique, there really isn’t quite anything like it. In addition to the quality of their goods, their fanbase is out of this world. Between the online forum and the various groups on social media, it’s really amazing!

The owners/founders have a daughter named Lilith. On both the BPAL and BPTP side, they release scents based on her or experiences with her. Today’s is from the BPTP side, run by Puddin’, her dad. This collection is within the Fatherhood collection: A Moment in TimeEach Lilith comes with either the story or description, they almost all tug at my heart. This one in particular is so touching.

FatherhoodQuiet moments with Lilith mean so much to me.

Nothing compares to the joy of watching her as she experiences things for the first time, and I’m grateful to be part of it.

A tranquil scent, illuminated by joy and warm with the serenity of love: bourbon vanilla and soft sandalwood with tiare, white fig, sweet benzoin, guiac wood, French lavender, and a touch of warm patchouli.

 

In the bottle: All I smell is lavender, oh noes, and not the sweet, sugared lavender that I’m accustomed to, but a strong herbal lavender, this much be the “French” part of the French lavender note.

Wet on the Skin: I still get the lavender but now I’m getting a bit of patchouli as well. At this stage it’s still a super strongly lavender with patchouli blend and not quite what I was expecting. I really hope this lavender mellows out a bit because it’s still way too herbal for me.  get the heavy handed lavender but on the skin it blossoms into a gorgeous figgy patchouli lavender blend. I think I need a back-up.

Dry on the Skin: After it dries out, the fig completely comes to forefront. I get a really sweet fig that’s mellowing out the lavender, with patchouli in the background grounding the whole scent. This is a gorgeously sweet lavender blend. The sillage is pretty strong but it creates more of a cloud of scent around me. I applied at about 7 am and it last for a good 5 hours without reapplication. I’m super happy I sprung for this one, it has a few notes that I’m unfamiliar with (fig, tiare, benzoin) but it really turned out to be a win.

Leave a Reply

